Is Modified Food Starch Gluten Free?

Is modified food starch gluten free? This is a troubling question that many people ask, and, fortunately, there is no gluten.

All modified food starch labelled gluten-free in the United States do not contain wheat. However, there are instances when wheat makes modified food starch.

But, “modified wheat starch” or “modified food starch (wheat”) must appear on the label if wheat was the source. Wheat starch is not gluten-free and is not safe for those with celiac disease to consume.

As a result, you should always read the allergy label carefully.

WHAT IS MODIFIED FOOD STARCH?

In answering is modified food starch gluten free, you must first understand what modified food starch is. So what is it?

Modified food starch results from modifying starch in one of three ways: physically, enzymatically, or chemically. Most modified starches come from genetically modified components, but some aren’t.

It is also known as:

  • Food Starch
  • Starch
  • Modified Starch
  • Food Starch Modified

WHAT IS MODIFIED FOOD STARCH USED FOR?

Modified food starch is a food additive used to thicken, stabilize, or prevent caking in food products. Modifying the original starch’s qualities increases shelf life by adding an ability to withstand varied conditions such as freezing and extreme heat.

For example, it will keep thickening the sauce for a longer time than its conventional counterpart. The thickening time speeds up by altering their ability to thicken.

Modified starch may act as a better thickening agent and thickens sauce much faster than its conventional counterpart.

Foods that advertise themselves as “instant” or require a specific temperature to thicken sometimes contain modified starches. They are more readily available when cooking or freezing.

Instant puddings and gravy packets come to mind, like dinners in a box that only require boiling water to prepare. While you ponder about modified food starch gluten free, know that modified starch is now in every processed food.

IS FOOD STARCH GLUTEN-FREE?

Food starch is gluten-free, except for those based on wheat starch. Whether or not modified wheat starch contains gluten is, of course, a source of some debate.

There are several companies with safe options in the search for conventional gluten-free starches for home cooking.

Their products are entirely safe and gluten-free due to their ingredients and the safeguards they take in their manufacturing facilities.

So, is modified food starch gluten free? Try the following options.

BOB’S RED MILL CORNSTARCH

Bob asserts that they process their cornstarch using gluten-free machinery. In addition, they test their gluten-free products to ensure that they contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

It is the maximum ratio of gluten levels in food deemed safe in the United States for patients with celiac disease.

HODGSON MILL CORNSTARCH

Cross-contamination is not a concern because Hodgson Mill only produces gluten-free items. They say that the gluten content of their starch is less than 5% of a million parts per million.

CLABBER GIRL CORNSTARCH

All of Clabber Girl’s gluten-free products are made under their brand name, as is Hearth Club Cornstarch, which also produces gluten-free cornstarch.

WHAT IS MODIFIED FOOD STARCH MADE FROM?

Starches derived from cereal grains, potatoes, and tapioca are the most commonly used in producing modified food stars.

While finding out about modified food starch gluten free, product labels always detail the source of the modified starch. However, you don’t have to label them this way unless the starch’s sourcing was from one of the top eight allergens.

Wheat is a perfect example.

There are several gluten-free options available to those living in the United States. Most of them are from potatoes, waxy maize, and modified corn.

Food products made in North America that mention “modified” food starch but not “wheat” as an ingredient should be safe to consume. According to the law, companies disclose the presence of wheat in their ingredient lists.

Thus, always read the label before making a purchase. It is the safest way to know modified food starch gluten free status.

 

Due to facilities not adhering to rigorous gluten-free criteria, cross-contact with modified food starch is a significant issue. When in doubt about a company’s products, contact them directly.

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN CORN STARCH AND MODIFIED CORN STARCH?

Is modified food starch gluten free? What is the difference between corn starch and modified corn starch?

All these questions are valid since many people worry about the inclusion on nutrition labels of modified cornstarch.

Modified cornstarch is a form of cornstarch that’s extensively processed. While it has no nutritional value, it’s not dangerous either.

In other words, modified starch is simply cornstarch that has undergone further enzymatic and physical treatment to alter its physical properties.

The improved version has more stabilizing and emulsifying capabilities, thickening capacity, and better binding properties.

Any foodstuff using modified cornstarch has no flavour and is only added to enhance the texture and consistency. Modified starch has several uses, especially in food processing industries.

MODIFIED FOOD STARCH HEALTH RISKS

Besides studies on modified food starch gluten free, another critical question that comes to mind is the health risk involved.

First, research shows that you should avoid modified food starch. Why? Because potentially dangerous chemicals crop up during the ingredient’s processing, there is a high chance of contamination.

It is in candy, canned soup, cheese sauces, food coated in powder, and microwaved meals.

Each teaspoon of this highly processed carbohydrate contains approximately 30 calories or seven grams of carbs. Yet, it does not provide any nutritional benefit in exchange.

In addition, maltodextrin – a flavourless powder – is harmful in this processed product used as a binding agent.

It triggers allergies similar to those of wheat and sudden weight gain. You may also experience some itching, rashes, and asthma.

The best advice is to consume it in moderation, if not altogether avoid it.

CONCLUSION

The elephant in the room; modified food starch gluten free. Is it safe? As mentioned earlier, it would be best to stay away from it. While allergy is one of the short-term effects, you could suffer irreversible illnesses due to chemical contamination.